Children learning in Nursery and Reception classes are known as the Early Years (EYFS).  We follow the national Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework.  The EYFS is a very important stage in a child’s life as it helps prepare for school ‘readiness’ as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. Children’s early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.  Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential.  Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences before the age of five will have a major impact on their future life chances.

The EYFS framework explains how and what children will be learning to support their healthy development and provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.

Children will learn skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. These are split up into:

Prime Areas

Communication and language

Physical development

Personal, social and emotional development

Specific Areas



Understanding the world

Expressive arts and design

All 7 areas of learning are used to plan children’s learning and activities. At Alec Reed Academy, children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside. It is very important that they develop social skills, such as turn-taking, sharing and independence, which help them greatly in the next stages of their learning.  We aim for children to be well-rounded individuals who are independent, resilient, and confident in themselves and with others.

Latest News

More News

Upcoming Events

More Events

Contact Us

Bengarth Road, Northolt, Middlesex, UB5 5LQ

020 8841 4511

Contact Us